InSight

  • News
    Mini-

    Mini-marsquakes measured by InSight lander show effects of sun and wind

    Ambient noise on the Mars. Credit: Takeshi Tsuji, I2CNER, Kyushu University Compared with our own planet Earth, Mars might seem like a “dead” planet, but even there, the wind blows and the ground moves. On Earth, we study the ambient seismic noise rippling mainly due to ocean activity to peek underground at the structure of the Earth’s interior. Can we…

    Read More »
  • News
    RSS Icon

    Girls into Geoscience 2020 gives pupils a virtual insight into the Earth sciences

    Further Education News The FE News Channel gives you the latest education news and updates on emerging education strategies and the #FutureofEducation and the #FutureofWork. Providing trustworthy and positive Further Education news and views since 2003, we are a digital news channel with a mixture of written word articles, podcasts and videos. Our specialisation is providing you with a mixture of…

    Read More »
  • Insight from Shanghai: Can shale gas secure China’s energy security?

    As China’s energy imports rise, so energy security climbs up the political agenda. In 2014 Xi Jinping, General Secretary of the Communist Party of China, outlined a long-term energy strategy that included strengthening the domestic and overseas supply of oil and gas. More recently, external pressures, notably a more bellicose United States, China’s key strategic competitor, have only heightened China’s…

    Read More »
  • Uncategorized

    Inside InSight (live public talk)

    Original air date: Thursday, Feb. 22 at 7 p.m. PT (10 p.m. ET, 0300 UTC) Dig deep into the workings of Earth’s next trip to the Red Planet. InSight, scheduled to launch in May, 2018, will be the first NASA mission to observe the deep interior of Mars and learn about the history and evolution of rocky planets. See the…

    Read More »
  • Maps World

    InSight: Digging Deep into Mars (News Briefing)

    Original air date: Thursday, March 29 at 2 p.m. PT (5 p.m. ET, 2100 UTC) NASA’s Interior Exploration using Seismic Investigations, Geodesy and Heat Transport … source

    Read More »
  • Maps World

    Mission Control Live: NASA InSight Mars Landing

    Original air date: November 26, 2018 11 a.m. PT (2 p.m. ET) See inside mission control at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory as signals return from the InSight mission as it lands on Mars. Landing commentary includes interviews with team members. https://mars.nasa.gov/insight source

    Read More »
  • Uncategorized

    NASA InSight: The Science and Engineering of a Mars Lander

    Original Air Date: Wednesday, Nov. 21, 2018 PART 1: Engineering Briefing Prior to landing on the Red Planet NASA discusses the engineering that went into the InSight lander. Launched on May 5, InSight marks NASA’s first Mars landing since the Curiosity rover in 2012. The landing will kick off a two-year mission in which InSight will become the first spacecraft…

    Read More »
  • Uncategorized

    Sounds of Mars: NASA’s InSight Senses Martian Wind

    Listen to Martian wind blow across NASA’s InSight lander. The spacecraft’s seismometer and air pressure sensor picked up vibrations from 10-15 mph (16-24 kph) winds as they blew across Mars’ Elysium Planitia on Dec. 1, 2018. The seismometer readings are in the range of human hearing, but are nearly all bass and difficult to hear on laptop speakers and mobile…

    Read More »
Close